top of page
erika 04 - DSC_4140-cut2.jpg
PURE Guest.016 Erika

細膩雕琢卻不失動感的底特律佳醞。

 

Erika 身為一位著名科學家的女兒,她 13 歲時就已經在臥室裡經營一個知名的 BBS,透過科技來表達想法似乎是她與生俱來的天賦。在 1997 年她得到了一台 Roland TR-606,從此成為一位專注於類比聲音合成與現場演出的高水準電子音樂人,隨著時間不斷推移也為她調製的音色帶來更深層的轉變。憑藉著她深入細胞層面的夢境,也或許是以未知方式移動的跨維度存在,朝著神秘領域的目標前進著,音樂使她與夢的抽象連結得以實現,她的作品總能帶給聽者既堅實卻虛幻的特殊感受。

 

Erika 在底特律音樂場景中扮演著重要角色,她是受人景仰的底特律廠牌 Interdimensional Transmissions 管理者之一,該廠牌自 1994 年壯大至今,也是與 BMG 成立的組合 Ectomorph 成員;除了個人音樂創作及 DJ 演出,她也在 Circle of Live 平台的線上課程系列 In Bloom 中擔任現場音樂製作指導。她的 erika.net 曾是最早的 iTunes 預設流媒體電台之一,從 1999 到 2016 年,24 小時全天候不間斷地運行。在那之前 Erika 則是非常投入地在 WCBN-FM Ann Arbor 中擔任節目總監,也是爵士樂與無曲風主題的 DJ。九年前才走出幕後以個人的名義創作,於 2013 年發行了一張鬼魅般的專輯Hexagon Cloud,隨後便展開美國各地一系列現場與 DJ 表演,她也即將在今年釋出新的專輯,敬請期待。

PURE G Select:

Erika Metachrosis [Interdimensional Transmissions]

Danny Daze Beatdown ft. Translucent (Erika's Spaced Up Remix) [ULTRAMAJIC]

Ectomorph – It Knows Your Name [Tresor Reocrds]

120211-011.png

您最初是在什麼時候,因為什麼開始 DJ 的呢?

 

在高中的時候,從那時候開始我就會收聽並嘗試錄製廣播節目,也很清楚我期望成為一位電台 DJ。剛上大學時,我便加入由學生經營的自由形式廣播電台 WCBN,並開始針對廣播的專業訓練,我在這時候同時接觸到爵士樂和電子樂,當然還有更多其他類型的音樂,透過營運通宵的廣播節目來探索各種音樂。後來我自學了 Beatmatch,但當時比起在俱樂部 DJ,我更熱衷於如何在電台上有較多元的呈現。過了 15 年,在與 Ectomorph 有過多場現場演出之後,我才發現自己對俱樂部音樂的獨特見解,從那時候開始認真播放唱片,也投入更多現場 DJ 演出。

在瞭解您的資深經歷以後,能與我們分享在這段時間裡,您在場景中見證的任何改變嗎?您又是如何應對這些改變的?

 

從長遠的角度來看,我認為這種文化是在一波波浪潮和週期下發展的,每隔幾年,人們就會接觸到某種新的音樂,並圍繞它建構一個群體,使其變成一種文化,這些新的 DJ 與製作人著實為我們創造了更多新的視角。不論是溫暖還是冰冷調性的時期,快速和緩慢節拍的時期,又或是四四拍與 Electro 的時期,這些我都曾經歷過,不同風格隨著時間推移再度出現,但是以改變且進化的樣貌回到現在,從來沒有和以前完全一樣過。我喜歡這種聲音的演進過程,這既是某些群體的最佳寫照,同時也能對未來抱著更多期待。我不斷在尋找新的音樂和想法,並將這些化作我的創作能量與靈感來源。

科技也一直在進步,這點讓我非常興奮,因為這促使我必須不斷學習,讓我有更多新的表達方式。起初我用黑膠唱片來 DJ,但現在我也喜歡 USB 帶來的靈活與便利;以前我用的是大型的硬體器材進行現場演出,現在我用的是更小巧且適應力更強的配置。改變無時無刻都在發生,就在我們身邊,而且讓事情朝有趣的方向發展著。

您目前釋出混音除了舞曲類別,另一個是環境音樂,您希望個別透過這兩種類型的混音來達成什麼目標呢?

 

我希望透過我的每一個混音來呈現不同面向的電子音樂,不論是環境還是舞曲,或是介於這兩這之間的音樂。這種音樂有非常多各式各樣的形式,我在不同的日子,帶著不同的心情,抱著不同意圖,找到了不同的路徑。

erika-live-nwb.jpg

 

 

希望藉由這次機會與我們介紹您的任意一個作品嗎?創作想法是什麼呢?

 

2020 三月,一切開始封鎖的時候,迫使我必須延長這段寂靜的時間,所以我在家裡的工作室做了一個環境電子錄音,並以《The Filtered Sun》為名發行。當時我正在閱讀關於微生物和水下生態系統的書籍,也常常沿著底特律河騎自行車聽流水聲,這張專輯就是那時候的靈感映照。

 

除了 DJ,您將如何定義自己在整個銳舞場景中扮演的角色?

 

在這個場景待了這麼多年,我想我是一個骨灰級 raver : ) 我真的很喜歡在舞池中被音響包圍著,被聲音籠罩在令人驚嘆的節拍下跳舞。我也很喜歡促成一些事情,並和人們分享我的經驗,身為 Interdimensional Transmissions 的一份子,我們舉辦派對,把視覺與裝置藝術還有音響系統結合在一起,讓每次活動都有一個獨特的氛圍,就只有在那場活動的時間,給人一種相較於普通俱樂部更特別的體驗,我希望能向人們展示一場活動可以辦得多麽與眾不同。一年前,我開始在 In Bloom 上擔任講師授課,分享我多年來所學到的知識與經驗,今年四月我也將繼續主持我的新課程。

最近發現什麼音樂或音樂廠牌給您留下印象?能與我們分享幾部您喜愛的電影或是藝術家嗎?

藝術是我主要的靈感來源,我在工作室裡放了不少藝術書籍,這些是我最近才剛看的:

Berenice Abbott – Documenting Science

"The Five Hundred Arhats by Kano Kazunobu" exhibition book

Eric Broug – Islamic Geometric Design 

Alfie Kungu – GapTooth

Franck André Jamme – Tantra Song

Ernst Haeckel – Art Forms From the Ocean

Abel Trybiarz – Rugs & Art

"Emma Kunz: Artist, Researcher, Healer"

 

我比較少看電影,但有兩部影集我剛好看到一半:

Station Eleven (HBO)

寧靜海 (Netflix)

                                                     2022.03.03

Tracklist:

Bichord Dimensione

Cosimo Damiano Hypnos

Ko-Ta Shiza (DJ Nobu Remix)

Archivist Stone Eater (Claudio PRC Remix)

Adam Arthur The Bard's Tale

Oscean Spacion

Joachim Spieth Dispersion (Dino Sabatini rework)

Peter Van Hoesen Leaning

Marco Bailey Grow

Farceb Spectral Abduction

Artefakt Tangent Space

Ecilo Black Paradox

Ness Orbital Debris

Einox Operating

Emily Jeanne The General Distress

Refracted The View From Cal Companyó

Marco Shuttle W.E.I.R.D.

Stanislav Tolkachev Stockholm Syndrome

Crossing Avenue Piromante

Priori Winged (Donato Dozzy Remix)

bottom of page

logo.png
erika 04 - DSC_4140-cut2.jpg

art work by EG

PURE Guest.016 Erika

The delicate and dynamic sounds brewed from Detroit.

 

Erika is the daughter of a famed scientist and already running a well-known BBS from her bedroom by the time she was 13, Erika is no stranger to expressing her ideas through technology. In 1997 she was handed a TR-606 and has become an electronic musician of the highest order, focusing on analog synthesis, with live hardware sequencing that allows transformation over time and a deep depth of tone. Erika dreams on the cellular level, or perhaps of transdimensional intelligence moving through strange patterns on celestial objects, working towards a mysterious goal. Her connection to the dreamworld becomes concrete in her approach to music, simultaneously so solid and yet so ethereal. 

 

Erika plays many roles in the music scenes, such as being a member of Ectomorph with BMG, helping to run the esteemed Detroit label Interdimensional Transmissions, DJing and making music with her pet machines, and giving mentorships and workshops about making live music on In Bloom of the Circle of Live platform. Her freeform streaming radio station "erika.net" was one of the very first iTunes presets, running 24x7 for 17 years from 1999 to 2016. Before that, Erika was very involved in WCBN-FM Ann Arbor, as a freeform and jazz DJ, and Program Director. She has stepped out from the shadows as a solo artist, with an album of ghostly electro "Hexagon Cloud" in 2013 and a string of live and DJ sets around the US that followed, with a new album coming in 2022.

PURE G Select:

Erika Metachrosis [Interdimensional Transmissions]

Danny Daze Beatdown ft. Translucent (Erika's Spaced Up Remix) [ULTRAMAJIC]

Ectomorph – It Knows Your Name [Tresor Reocrds]

120211-011.png

 

 

When and why did you first start DJing? 

In high school, I listened to and recorded late-night radio programs, and knew that I wanted to someday become a radio DJ. When I arrived at university, I immediately joined the student-run freeform radio station, WCBN, and began my radio training. Here, I discovered jazz and techno at the same time, with so many other kinds of music, and began doing overnight radio shows to explore all of these sounds. I taught myself to beatmatch, but was more interested in presenting a wide range of musical genres on the radio than I was in DJing for the club. It was 15 years later, after many years of doing live shows with Ectomorph, that I found my unique perspective on club music, got serious about playing records, and started to DJ out at parties. 

Knowing your senior experience, can you share with us any changes you've witnessed in the scene during this time? How have you coped with these changes?

With a long view on the scene, I see the culture moving in waves and cycles. Every few years, people come to this music for the first time, create communities around it, adapt it and make it their own, with new perspectives created by new producers and DJs. I've seen see warm years and cold years, fast years and slow years, 4/4 years and electro years. Styles come back around with time, but changed and evolved, never quite the same as they were before. I love this constant evolution of sound, at its best a reflection of the communities it comes from while looking towards the future. I constantly seek new music and ideas, as sources of energy and inspiration for my own creative practice.

 

Technology is always changing too, which excites me, as it forces me to constantly learn and evolve, giving me new ways to express myself. I learned how to DJ with records, but now enjoy the flexibility I have by playing with thumb drives. I first played live on large old analog gears, but now I use a much more compact and adaptable setup. Change happens all the time, all around us, and keeps things interesting and moving forward.

You currently release mixes in the dance and ambient electronic, what do you hope to achieve with each of these types of mixes?

With each mix I make, I aim to express a different side of electronic music, whether it's ambient or dance or somewhere inbetween. This music takes many forms, and I find a different path through it on different days, with different moods, holding different intentions. 

erika-live-nwb.jpg

 

 

Would you like to use this occasion to introduce one of your album or track? What was the concept of it?

When lockdown began in March of 2020, it forced an extended period of stillness, so I  made a live ambient recording in my home studio, and released it as The Filtered Sun. At the time, I was looking at books about microbial life and underwater ecosystems, and taking bike rides along the Detroit River to listen to the water. This live album is a reflection of these inspirations. 

 

Apart from DJ, how would you define your role in the entire rave scene?

With so many years in the scene, I suppose I am a rave elder! :)  I truly love to be in the middle of the floor, surrounded by speaker stacks, enveloped in sound, dancing to an amazing set... but I also like to make things happen, and to share my knowledge and experience with people. As part of Interdimensional Transmissions, we throw parties that feature visual and installation artists alongside the sound system and musical artists. Each of these events is a unique environment that lasts only for the length of the party, giving a very different experience from a normal club night, and I hope to show people how special an event can be. In the past year, I started teaching mentorship courses and workshops on In Bloom. It has been an amazing experience to share what I've learned and developed over many years of making music and touring, and I will continue teaching new workshops in April.

What artists or labels have pricked your ears recently? Could you share with us some of your favorite movies or artists?

I like to publish the playlists for my mixes on "buymusic.club," look here for picks! – https://buymusic.club/user/schnitzelmeow

 

Art is a major source of inspiration for me, so I keep art books around the studio. Some of what I've been looking at lately:

Berenice Abbott – Documenting Science

"The Five Hundred Arhats by Kano Kazunobu" exhibition book

Eric Broug Islamic Geometric Design 

Alfie Kungu GapTooth

Franck André Jamme Tantra Song

Ernst Haeckel  Art Forms From the Ocean

Abel Trybiarz Rugs & Art

"Emma Kunz: Artist, Researcher, Healer"

 

I don't see many movies, but a couple of TV shows I like right now are:

Station Eleven (HBO)

Silent Sea (Netflix)

                                                     2022.03.03

Tracklist:

Bichord Dimensione

Cosimo Damiano Hypnos

Ko-Ta Shiza (DJ Nobu Remix)

Archivist Stone Eater (Claudio PRC Remix)

Adam Arthur The Bard's Tale

Oscean Spacion

Joachim Spieth Dispersion (Dino Sabatini rework)

Peter Van Hoesen Leaning

Marco Bailey Grow

Farceb Spectral Abduction

Artefakt Tangent Space

Ecilo Black Paradox

Ness Orbital Debris

Einox Operating

Emily Jeanne The General Distress

Refracted The View From Cal Companyó

Marco Shuttle W.E.I.R.D.

Stanislav Tolkachev Stockholm Syndrome

Crossing Avenue Piromante

Priori Winged (Donato Dozzy Remix)

PURE%20G_LOGO_WHITE_edited.png

© 2022 PURE G

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Grey SoundCloud Icon